Texas Concealed Handgun License Training
Course Description: The new permit and renewal courses, designed by the Department of Public Safety, that are required for all permit holders.
Topics: state and federal laws on gun ownership and use of force, non-violent conflict resolution, post-incident legal and psychological issues, safe storage of guns in the home, written and live-fire exams.
Cost: $120 (new permit), $60 (renewal) <- NEW LOWER PRICES!
For prices and upcoming course dates, check the schedule page.
Length: eleven hours (new permit), five to six hours (renewal)
The classroom portion will take 10-12 hours and will cover the Texas Penal Code, the CHL law, conflict resolution and safe storage of firearms.
Prerequisites: Required: previous handgun shooting experience, or Basic Pistol or equivalent.
Students with no prior shooting experience, or who believe themselves incapable of passing the CHL shooting test without coaching CANNOT attend KR Training CHL classes without first completing a Basic Pistol course. In order to provide a one-day CHL course, minimal time is alloted during the course for shooting instruction and students are expected to have the skill to pass the CHL shooting test on the first try. Students failing the shooting test may be asked to reshoot after the course has completed or return for remedial firearms instruction prior to reshooting the CHL course.
Our Basic Pistol 2 class is a great pre-CHL skills tune up course, particularly for those with no prior formal handgun training. It provides an opportunity to practice the different parts of the CHL shooting test, improve your shooting, learn the safe gun handling standards expected by most formal training programs, and more! This article can help you determine if taking Basic Pistol 2 prior to CHL is appropriate.
Information from DPS about how to apply for a Concealed Handgun License is in this PDF file.
Required Equipment: a handgun (.32 cal or larger), 100 rounds of ammunition, eye and ear protection, and a black pen.
Optional Equipment: See the general policies page for suggestions on food, drink, clothing, etc.
Taught by: Tom Schaefer or other state-certified CHL instructor
Facility: Schaefer Training Academy (map), south of the Austin Bergstrom Airport. Driving to the range from central Austin takes 45-60 minutes.
Times: New permit: class starts at 7:30 a.m. and normally finishes between 6-7 p.m. The class must take a minimum of 10 hours, as required by state law.
For the CHL renewal course: class starts at 8 a.m. and usually finishes by 1 or 2 p.m.
Additional information: A catered lunch is included in the course tuition. Students can also bring their own food if they do not want the food included with the course. There is no discount for students bringing their own food.
Due to changes in DPS policy we no longer fingerprint or photograph services as part of the CHL course. DPS has designated L-1 Identity Solutions as their preferred provider for fingerprint cards for CHL applications.
More information about the CHL program, including the eligibility requirements, a list of states that honor the Texas permit and links to our favorite CHL-related sites, can be found here.
Also recommend in the Bryan area: BCS Concealed Carry
If you have questions about the CHL process, contact us or contact DPS: (click here to go to the DPS CHL Website)
Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 North Lamar Blvd.
Austin, Texas 78752-4422
P O Box 4087
Need a 'change of address' form? Download DPS form CR-70 here.
Trying to decide what kind of pistol to buy? Read our Handgun Selection Guide.